Chairs and Speakers – T

Chairs and Speakers – T


Koji Tamai
Main position/role:
Lecturer, Osaka Metropolitan University, Osaka, Japan

Koji Tamai MD, PhD is Japanese board certified spine surgeon, currently a lecturer at Osaka Metropolitan University, Osaka, Japan. He is a chair of the SPINE20 Publication and Recommendation task force in 2021. In addition to the works as spine surgeons, he loves to conduct research to develop better treatment strategies for spinal disease. His major research field is cervical spine, but recently he is also performing several research projects about the improvement
of patient’s Quality of Life, large scale cohort studies detecting the effect of COVID 19, artificial intelligence in spinal diagnosis and surgery, as well as basic science.

Amirhossein Takian
Main position/role:
Professor and Vice Dean, School of Public Health, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Iran

Amirhossein Takian (MD MPH PhD FHEA), A physician by training, is Professor and Department Head of Global Health & Public Policy, and Vice-Dean for International Affairs at the School of Public Health (SPH)- Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS), Iran. He is a founding council member of Virchow Foundation for Global Health, Germany, and Advisor to TUMS’ Chancellor in Health Policy. He is a Member of the National Examination Board for Health Policy, Economics and Management, at the Ministry of Health and Medical Education (MOHME)- Iran. Amir is the Chief Research Officer at the Health Equity Research Centre (HERC)- TUMS and Head of TUMS’ Office for M8 Alliance collaboration, serving as a member of World Health Summit (WHS) Executive Committee since 2017, and Secretary of 7th World Health Summit Regional Meeting, 2019.


Marja-Riitta Taskinen
Main position/role:
Emerita Professor of Medicine group leader, University of Helsinki, Finland
Marja-Riitta Taskinen MD, PhD is an Emerita Professor of Medicine in the Research Program for Clinical and Molecular Metabolism (CAMM), University of Helsinki. Her expertise includes lipid and lipoprotein metabolism, cardiovascular disease, vascular health, NAFLD, obesity and diabetes. Her current research focus is on the liver lipid and lipoprotein metabolism in health and disease. She has 473 original publications (H-index 104). Her outstanding achievements have been recognized by several awards including the Claude Bernard Award by EASD, Edwin Bierman Award by ADA and Novartis Award. She gave Robert Levy Memorial Lecture (AHA 2017). She is EASD honorary member. She has served European Atherosclerosis Society (President 2006-2008) as well as of EASD and IDF. She was a member of the ESC/EAS guidelines group on “Lipid management”.

Stefan Teipel
Main position/role:
Full Professor in Clinical Dementia Research at the University Medicine Rostock and DZNE Rostock/Greifswald, Germany
Prof. Teipel is a trained psychiatrist and leads the clinical dementia research at the DZNE Rostock and the University Medicine in Rostock. His main interest is in the early diagnosis and treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease, the development of digital assistive systems for people with dementia and the development of methods of participatory research to involve patients and caregivers in research. He has a longstanding experience in multimodal brain imaging in neurodegenerative dementias. He is involved in major national and international research networks and in particular interested to bring diagnostic and therapeutic innovations from clinical research in to health care for people with dementia and their caregivers.

Volker ter Meulen
Main position/role:
IAP Past President, Co-Chair of the IAP-Project: Climate Change and Health

Volker ter Meulen, MD, University of Wuerzburg, specialised in paediatrics and in clinical virology. His main research is on molecular and pathogenic aspects of viral infections. He is an advisor to research organisations and to state and federal ministries of science in Germany and internationally. From 2003-2010, ter Meulen was President of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. From 2007-2010, he was President of the European Academies’ Science Advisory Council (EASAC). 2013 he was elected Co-Chair of the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP), the Global Network of Science, Medical and Engineering Academies. From 2017-2021 he served as IAP-President.